Kashmir Student Updates
Educational website of J&K

News About Kashmir Hosting Cricket World Cup Match Goes Rapidly Viral On Social Media- Here’s Reality

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: The 13th edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, will take place from October 2023 to November 26th, 2023. It would be India’s first time hosting the entire ICC World Cup. This event was originally scheduled to take place from February 9 to March 26, 2023. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the dates were changed to October and November 2023.

The news which is being circulated on social media that Kashmir will host one of the cricket world cup matches in Srinagar’s Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium this year is totally baseless.

Many Facebook pages and some news outlets, surprisingly, misread this creative, spreading the fake news that Kashmir will host the World Cup.

Sher-e-Kashmir Cricket Stadium in Srinagar last hosted an international match in 1986. The ground hasn’t even hosted a Ranji Trophy match in the last four years. There’s zero possibility of it hosting an international match in near future.


ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: Host Country

This could be the first time India has hosted the event on its own, After co-hosting tournaments in 1987 (with Pakistan), 1996 (with West Pakistan and Ceylon), and 2011 (with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh).

Australia are the most successful team in the history of the Cricket World Cup, having won the tournament a record five times. India and West Indies have won by twice , while Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and England have all won once.

ICC World Cup 2023: Squad

20 players have been selected by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to represent India in the ICC World Cup in 2023. In the months leading up to the World Cup, the chosen players will be used in changing lineups. Additionally, the athletes’ physical condition will be thoroughly watched.

ICC World Cup 2023: Teams

Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy. The top eight teams will get a direct entry to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The remaining teams will have to play in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier along with five Associate teams. Two teams from the qualifying tournament will then progress to the World Cup. India automatically qualify on the account of being the tournament hosts.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap